imagesCappadocia is one of the very interesting tourist destinations in Turkey. Cappadocia - a unique natural and historical park, which is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On the one hand, Cappadocia is a miraculous monument, which nature has erected itself. On the other hand, Cappadocia - historical heritage of many eras.

Cappadocia - a historic name of the area, which is on the territory of modern Turkey and includes the province of Nevsehir, Kayseri, Aksaray and Nigde.
Cappadocia area is a plateau with a continental climate, few rivers, which is located at an altitude of 1000 meters above sea level.

The unique geology of Cappadocia

Unusual geological nature of the land Cappadocia is amazing, even the experienced traveler.

Their education, geology of the place owes a sequence of actions of two opposing natural phenomena: volcanic eruptions about 65-62 million years ago when lava and volcanic ash created the topography. So there were cones of extinct volcanoes and lava flows. Erupting volcanoes covered terrain tuff (light, porous rock).

And then in the process of erosion (damage of rocks and soil surface water flow and wind), in rocks formed crack. Water and wind destroyed the volcanic formations. With the passage of time from the volcanic rock began to emerge some hills.

That's what formed the famous "stone pillars» (Peri bacaları), in the form of stone mushrooms and stone pillars of bizarre forms and shapes.
The process of forming these surprising figures continues today. Wind and water tirelessly perfecting these "sculptures" that rise or a solid wall or in separate groups. The height of some of the units is around 40 meters. Geologists believe that these cones are specific to Cappadocia.

Historical milestones Cappadocia

The first mention of Cappadocia are the fifth millennium BC. There is a version that it was the Hittites came here in Asia Minor, who were expelled from the Balkan lands (now Bulgaria and Greece).

See also:   EU TO 28 COUNTRIES

After the Hittites settled in the Cappadocia Persians, then, with the light hand of Alexander the Great - the Macedonians. In '17 BC Cappadocia was a part of the Roman Empire. When three centuries later, the Roman Empire split into Western and Eastern parts, thanks to the military genius and a giant ambition of Constantine the Great, Cappadocia went to the eastern part, that is, to Byzantium. In the ninth century AD, the Armenian kings also failed to rule Cappadocia. Then came the era of the Seljuks, which later absorbed the Ottomans. Cappadocia was a part of the Ottoman Empire until the last days of the empire.

cave dwelling

On the territory of Cappadocia is a unique and extensive "residential complex", which was created over the centuries, starting from the first millennium BC. We are talking about cave dwellings.

Soft rock contributed to the fact that residents of the area hollowed out their houses in the rocks and caves. For example, the Turkish population Goreme and now is building a house in the middle of an empty place, but rather are settling in caves. Some use a "cave" rooms as warehouses and / or storage, and even so full living rooms.

But back to the reasons that prompted the residents to settle in the caves of Cappadocia.

The geographical position of Cappadocia was a consequence of the fact that for many centuries, through the territory of the district were the army of foreign invaders. Cappadocia repeatedly the scene of large-scale wars. The local population in order to survive, chose to be such a secret dwelling, which was enough to lay a small cave entrance stone to hide.

Due to difficult access, as well as due to the peculiarities of local rock, Cappadocia has become a place of salvation huge amount of political and religious immigrants in different eras.

Well, among other things, the edge of the wind and rocks has attracted everyone to become hermits and ascetics, who settled in caves hollowed out of the rock likeness cells.

See also:   Thailand. Tropical fruit. Jackfruit and Durian.

Carved into the rock ground dwelling used as ordinary people and monks. But it was the Christians who were hiding from persecution in Cappadocia, left the most remarkable historical monuments, monasteries turning the whole mountain valleys.

underground cities

six underground cities in the territory of Cappadocia (Kaymakli, Derinkuyu Ozkonak, Adzhigol, Tatlarin, MAZ). Scientists do not exclude that the new city will be found under the earth in the future.

The presence of underground cities in the area found, as always, quite by accident. In the XIX century French traveler priest noticed a small hole in the middle of the mountain plains. Going down to it, he found himself in a vast underground city, which included several floors to descend. The city had air shafts, water wells, storage facilities for grain and Pet products, press for production of wine, as well as religious temples. Residents of these cities was rising to the surface of the earth, only to till the fields. Narrow entrances leading to the city, in case of danger, overlap with heavy stone slabs.

According to scientists, the population of the underground cities could reach up to 10 thousand people.

Ancient underground city open to the public. They amaze with its size and perfectly crafted life-support system.

Underground city served as a refuge for many generations of Christians in times of persecution by the pagans of Arab nomads, who frequently raided the lands in the eighth century, and then from Seljuks and Ottomans.

Julian the apostate

Prêtre_de_Sérapis, _Musée_de_ClunyJulian the Apostate (Flavius ​​Claudius Julian) was the last pagan Roman Emperor, who reigned in 361 - 363 years BC and who accounted for Constantine the Great (Christian faith) nephew.

Let us not burden our trip to Cappadocia intricacies of life of Julian the Apostate, and a description of his struggle for power. Gaining a foothold on the throne, Julian began to persecute Christian and pagan traditions and restore order to the already baptized Byzantium. Julian allowed the restoration of pagan temples and the return of their confiscated property. Julian promised great benefits for those of Christians who would agree to renounce Christianity. And examples of renunciation were many.
The most painful blow inflicted Christianity Julian's school reform. Julian forbade Christians to teach and learn in school as long as they do not move on to the worship of pagan gods.

See also:   The most important secrets - Forbidden corners of the earth.

During the reign of Julian the Second Christian crowds flocked to Cappadocia to seek refuge from the emperor an apostate. The period witnessed a large number of churches built in the rock, as well as the homes of internally displaced persons. It is believed that during this period, Christians have perfected the underground labyrinths started more Hittites, turning them into the city.

What to visit and see

Cappadocia is now a major tourist center, where there are more than one million tourists annually. In Cappadocia built hotels of different levels - from the elite and even unique to the most simple. There are provided a variety of entertainment services - trails for skiing, mountain jeep safaris, ethnic festivals, ballooning. Transportation - car, by bus or minibus (dolmus), allows access to the main attractions. For tourists in Cappadocia there are many opportunities to stock up experience of a lifetime.

etik_tur_yurtici_konaklamali_kapadokya_turu

In addition to tours of the cave dwellings and churches, in addition to exploring the underground city, you can take heart and fly at dawn, in a balloon. Courage after the flight will be rewarded with a glass of champagne.

Admire the ancient frescoes, buy souvenirs from magnets (ordered in China) to unique and, of course, doroguschih handmade carpets. Well, exotics lovers can spend the night in a hotel room which knocked out in the rock.

Until we meet again, with respect, Elena.



leave a comment

Your email will not be published

This site uses the Akismet spam filter. Learn how to handle your data comments .

imagesКаппадокия является одним из очень интересных туристических маршрутов в Турции. Каппадокия – это уникальный природно-исторический парк, который входит с список наследия ЮНЕСКО. С одной стороны, Каппадокия является нерукотворным памятником, который природа воздвигла сама себе. С другой стороны, Каппадокия – историческое наследие многих эпох.

Каппадокия – это историческое название местности, которая находится на территории современной Турции и включает в себя провинции Невшехир, Кайсери, Аксарай и Нигде.
Территория Каппадокии представляет собой плоскогорье с континентальным климатом, редкими реками, которое находится на высоте 1000 метров над уровнем моря.

Уникальная геология Каппадокии

Необычный геологический характер земель Каппадокии поражает воображение даже бывалого путешественника.

Своим образованием, геология этого места обязана последовательному действию двух противоположных природных явлений: извержениям вулканов около 65-62 млн лет назад, когда лава и вулканический пепел создали рельеф поверхности. Так появились конусы потухших вулканов и застывшие потоки лавы. Извергающиеся вулканы покрыли местность туфом (легкая, пористая порода).

А затем в процессе эрозии (разрушение горных пород и почв поверхностными водными потоками и ветром), в горных породах образовывались трещины. Вода и ветер разрушали вулканические образования. С течением времени из вулканической породы начали вырисовываться отдельные холмы.

Именно так образовались знаменитые «каменные столбы» (Peri bacaları) , в виде каменных грибов и каменных столбов причудливых форм и очертаний.
Процесс формирования этих удивительных фигур продолжается и сейчас. Ветер и вода без устали совершенствуют эти „скульптуры“, которые возвышаются либо сплошной стеной, либо отдельными группами. Высота некоторых из формирований составляет около 40 метров. Геологи считают, что подобные конусы характерны только для Каппадокии.

Исторические вехи Каппадокии

Первые упоминания о Каппадокии относятся к пятому тысячелетию до нашей эры. Есть версия, что именно сюда в Малую Азию пришли хетты, которые были изгнаны с балканских земель (ныне Болгария и Греция).

Смотри еще:  Турция. Античный город Миндос. Путешествие во времени

После Хеттов в Каппадокии обосновались персы, затем, с легкой руки Александра Великого – македонцы. В 17 году нашей эры Каппадокия вошла в состав Римской Империи. Когда три века спустя произошел раскол Римской Империи на Западную и Восточную части, благодаря военному гению и гигантским амбициям Константина Великого, Каппадокия отошла к Восточной части, то есть к Византии. В девятом веке нашей эры армянским царям также удалось править Каппадокией. Затем началась эра Сельджуков, которых впоследствии поглотили Османы. Каппадокия находилась в составе Османской империи до последних дней существования этой империи.

Пещерные Жилища

На территории Каппадокии находится уникальный и обширный „жилой комплекс“, который создавался на протяжении многих столетий, начиная с первого тысячелетия до нашей эры. Речь идет о пещерных жилищах.

Мягкая горная порода способствовала тому, чтобы жители этой местности выдалбливали свои жилища прямо в скалах и пещерах. Например, турецкое население Гёреме и сейчас не строит дома посреди пустой местности, а наоборот обустраиваются в пещерах. Некоторые используют „пещерные“ помещения как склады и/или кладовки, а то и так полноценные жилые комнаты.

Однако вернемся к причинам, которые побудили жителей Каппадокии обустраиваться в пещерах.

Географическое положение Каппадокии стало следствием того, что на протяжении многих веков через территорию района проходили армии иноземных захватчиков. Каппадокия многократно становилась ареной масштабных войн. Местное население, чтобы выжить, предпочло стоить такие тайные жилища, что достаточно было заложить небольшой вход в пещеру камнем, чтобы спрятаться.

По причине труднодоступности, а также благодаря особенностям местных горных пород, Каппадокия стала местом спасения огромного количества политических и религиозных эмигрантов в разные эпохи.

Ну и помимо всего прочего, край ветров и скал привлекал к себе всех желающих стать отшельниками и аскетами, которые селились в пещерах, выдолбив  в горной породе подобие кельи.

Смотри еще:  Вокруг М - Стокгольм. Леся и шведские красавчики. Выпуск 10

Вырубленные в скалах наземные жилища использовались как простым населением, так и монахами. Но именно христиане, которые скрывались от гонений в Каппадокии, оставили самые замечательные исторические памятники, превратив в монастыри целые горные долины.

Подземные города

На территории Каппадокии находятся шесть подземных городов (Каймаклы, Деринкую, Озконак, Аджигол, Татларин, Мазы). Ученые не исключают, что в будущем будут найдены новые города под землей.

Наличие подземных городов в этом районе обнаружилось, как это всегда бывает, совершенно случайно. В XIX веке путешествующий французский священник заметил небольшую дыру посреди горной равнины. Спустившись в нее, он оказался в огромном подземном городе, которых включал в себя несколько этажей, спускавшихся вниз. В городе были вентиляционные шахты, колодцы с водой, помещения для хранения зерна и содержания домашних животных, прессы для изготовления вина, а также религиозные храмы. Жители таких городов поднималось на поверхность земли, только чтобы обрабатывать поля. Узкие входы, ведущие к городу, в случае опасности, перекрывались тяжелыми каменными плитами.

Согласно подсчетам ученых, численность населения подземных городов могла достигать до 10 тысяч человек.

Древние подземные города открыты для посещения. Они потрясают своими масштабами и в совершенстве продуманной системой жизнеобеспечения.

Подземные города служили убежищем для многих поколений христиан во времена гонений со стороны язычников, от арабов-кочевников, которые часто совершали набеги на эти земли в восьмом веке, а затем от Сельджуков и Османов.

Юлиан отступник

Prêtre_de_Sérapis,_Musée_de_ClunyЮлиан Отступник (Флавий Клавдий Юлиан) был последним языческим римским императором, правившим в 361 – 363 годах нашей эры и который приходился Константину Великому (христианской веры) родным племянником.

Не станем отягощать наше путешествие в Каппадокию хитросплетениями жизни Юлиана Отступника и  описанием его борьбы за власть. Укрепившись на престоле, Юлиан начал  преследовать христианство и реставрировать языческие традиции и порядки  в уже крещенной Византии. Юлиан разрешил восстановление языческих храмов и возврат их конфискованной собственности. Юлиан обещал большие выгоды тем из христиан, которые согласились бы отречься от христианства. И примеров отречения было немало.
Наиболее чувствительный удар нанесла христианству школьная реформа Юлиана. Юлиан запретил христианам обучать и учиться в школах, пока они не перейдут к почитанию языческих богов.

Смотри еще:  Поездка в Грецию. Достопримечательности Афин

В период правления Юлиана Второго толпы христиан потянулись в Каппадокию искать спасения от императора отступника. На этот период приходится большое количество построенных в скалах церквей, а также жилищ вынужденных переселенцев. Считается, что в этот период, христиане усовершенствовали подземные лабиринты, начатые ещё хеттами, превратив их в города.

Что посетить и посмотреть

Каппадокия сейчас является крупным туристическим центром, где ежегодно  бывают более миллиона туристов. В Каппадокии построены гостиницы самого разного уровня — от элитных и даже уникальных до самых простых. Здесь предусмотрены различные развлекательные услуги — трассы для горнолыжного спорта, горные сафари на джипах, этнические праздники, полеты на воздушных шарах. Транспортное сообщение — автомобильное, на автобусах или маршрутках (Долмушах), позволяет добраться до основных достопримечательностей. Для туристов в Каппадокии есть множество возможностей запастись впечатлениями на всю жизнь.

etik_tur_yurtici_konaklamali_kapadokya_turu

Помимо экскурсий по пещерным жилищам и церквям, кроме прогулок по подземным городам, можно расхрабриться и полетать на рассвете, на воздушном шаре. Храбрость после полета будет вознаграждена бокалом шампанского.

Полюбоваться древними фресками, прикупить сувениры от магнитов (заказанных в Китае) до уникальных и, конечно же, дорогущих ковров ручной работы. Ну а любители экзотики могут переночевать в отеле, комнаты которого выбиты в горной породе.

До новых встреч, с уважением,  Елена.

Оставить комментарий

Ваша почта не будет опубликована


Яндекс.Метрика

Рейтинг@Mail.ru